Redesigning Your Logo

I recently redesigned a logo for a client. In fact I’ve done it on a number of occasions. If you take a look out there it should be done more often. Too many businesses are missing the mark when it comes to one of the single most important icons that identifies them. It is something that should make a statement. It should enhance and support a company brand. And it is not at all uncommon that it should evolve over time. The biggest obstacle I run up against is the attitude of “people know our logo, if I change it won’t I loose that identity?” Without hesitation the answer is no. There may be a slight transition period, but as long as the new design follows the parameters discussed above you will almost always strengthen your image. Below are a couple of companies you may have heard of that in fact have changed with the times – and haven’t lost any identity. Take a look:

 

About Ray Bauer

I am an independent designer and marketer operating my own enterprise, rBAUERdesign, based in Grand Rapids, Michigan, I have an understanding of, and dedication to, the design and marketing process of firms in need of communication solutions. I bring my design, layout, creative and art direction experience and knowledge as well as applied and tested marketing applications from the advertising agencies and marketing firms I've worked at for over 25 years to every job I touch.
This entry was posted in Design. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

